In order to draw attention towards and to promote specific individuals or projects, the non-profit GAA-Foundation (GAAF) awarded in 2010-2012-2013 and 2014 an artist(s) or architect(s) for his/her/their outstanding concept and execution thereof.

Since 2015 this prize is awarded by the European Cultural Centre and therefore renamed in the ECC Award. The ECC will give this Award each time to an artist(s), architect(s) or designer(s) who is/are dedicated to their concept over a longer period of time and whereby this concept and the execution thereof is in our opinion of significant meaning.


The ECC Award has been previously given to: 

2016    Denise Scott Brown (USA) for her life-long dedication to architecture    ECC Award Architecture 
    and her presentation of "Wayward Eye" at the Venice Biennale 2016.  
2016   Karim Rashid (Canada/USA) for his personal contribution to the world of Design   ECC Award Design
2015   Yoko Ono (Japan) for her continuing efforts to promote "Imagine Peace"   ECC Award Art 
2014   The University of Houston, (USA): Gerald D. Hines College Of Architecture,    GAAF Award Architecture 
    Dean Patricia Belton Oliver and Peter Jay Zweig    
2013   Arnulf Rainer (Austria) for his work series "Rainer - Klimt - Schiele"   GAAF Award Art 
2012   Arata Isozaki (Japan) for his Project in cooperation with   GAAF Award Architecture 
    the Administrative Committee of Zhengdong New District  
2011   The Award was not given    
2010   Sasaki (Japan) for his more than 15 years ongoing Heartbeat Project.   GAAF Award Art 

Shortlisted for the ECC Award have been:

2016   ECC Architecture Award   
    Auckland University of Technology & University of Sydney (NZL-AUS), Peter Eisenman (USA), ETH Zurich (CHE), GMP (GER), Curt Fentress (USA), Ideal Spaces Group (DEU-SWE), Denise Scott Brown (USA)  
2016   ECC Design Award  
    Eckhard Beger (CHE), Paul Kelley (GBR), Satyendra Pakhale (IND), Karim Rashid (CAN-USA), Robert Wettstein (CHE)  
2015   ECC Art Award   
    Joseph Kosuth (USA), Francois Morellet (FRA), Lee Nam Lee (KOR), Yoko Ono (JPN), Gunther Uecker (DEU), herman de vries (NLD)